What a leader looks like: Anne Mulcahy of Xerox, 2008 CEO of the Year

What happens when women lead? I can’t answer that definitively but I’ve read about Xerox and its chief, Anne Mulcahy, before. She was recognized by Chief Executive magazine last June as the tops – the first time for a woman to receive this particular acknowledgement.

BNET has a cute tongue-in-cheek take of the award and the winner. In part:

Anyway, according to CE, Mulcahy was selected by her peers. The magazine apparently solicits nominations by email (I don’t know any CEOs who respond to email solicitation, but whatever), and then a panel votes. I guess the panel consists of last year’s winner and other CEOs, many of whom sit on each other’s boards. Quite an exclusive little club they’ve got going on there.

This is apparently quite a big deal at CE. There are articles, photo ops, an award dinner, a luncheon for the panel, and of course, the closing bell celebration at the NYSE. Do winners get a trophy of an executive with a briefcase and a really gigantic head, too?

And the winner is …

Where to begin on 2008’s winner? Let’s start with Xerox. First, who cares? Seriously, it’s a depressing story, if anything. One of the great innovative companies of our time which essentially gave all its ideas and intellectual property away and is now a forgotten B2B enterprise with a market cap of $6 billion, right up there with other once-important, has-been companies like SunFord and US Steel.

Then there’s Mulcahy. If I hear another inspirational story about a wonderful manager who everybody loves but does little to improve shareholder value, I’m going to be sick. Wait, that’s not exactly true. When Mulcahy took the helm over 8 years ago, Xerox was a debt-ridden, $17 billion company with a $6 billion market cap and marginal profits. Now it’s a $17 billion company with a $6 billion market cap and marginal profits. For that, she received total compensation of over $13 million in 2007 … and an award. Not bad for a sales rep turned HR VP.

Well, I wouldn’t read too much into this whole CEO of the year thing. Past winners include the predictable likes of Frederick Smith (Fedex)Bob Welch (GE)Bill Gates (Microsoft)Andy Grove (Intel), and John Chambers (Cisco). On the other hand, 2003’s winner was Hank Greenberg of AIG, and 2002’s was Sandy Weill of Citigroup.

Yeah, it’s nothing.  All of our nothings should be so big.

Comment here

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s